Who We Are

We believe…

Access to food and proper nutrition is not only imperative for health and well-being but is a human right.

Every young person carries the capacity for “genius” and deserves a safe, nurturing spaces to realize their full potential.

Communities do not need to be “saved” but rather require sustainable and equitable access to resources and opportunities to flourish.

Racial, economic, and geographic disparities in Minnesota demand meaningful action with measurable outcomes.

Our role is to operationalize equitable and just solutions in collaboration with Minnesota communities.

We must be responsive and adaptable to the ever-changing landscape of circumstance, opportunity, and need.

Our Legacy

GMCC (Greater Minneapolis Council of Churches) was founded in 1905 as a faith-based initiative to serve the community. For 118 years, we have fulfilled our mission of “uniting people of faith, serving people in need,” through a range of programs and services, including advocacy and education around equity and poverty; volunteerism and service learning; mentoring and youth development; support services for seniors; and hunger-relief. 

Today, GMCC embraces our legacy through an intercultural, interfaith approach that intentionally welcomes all belief communities in our work.

Our Work

GMCC is an entrepreneurial organization that partners with communities most impacted by challenges to co-design responses. We work in the areas of food, youth, and well-being.

Our work is guided by the following principles:

1. Focus on action
2. Support co-design and power-sharing with the community
3. Maintain an asset-orientation approach
4. Focus on the social determinants of health & well-being

We are not always the experts. We therefore engage people with lived experiences to lead and staff our projects to more effectively address the challenges.

Although a lot of great work is being done in Minnesota, it continues to be siloed. GMCC’s role is often not to build initiatives from scratch but to partner with those on the front lines to add capacity to their good work. We use our infrastructure, staffing, and networks to develop masterful collaborations that respond to needs and opportunities, make positive change, and result in healthy, equitable communities.

“We are small, but large in heart.” – Gloria J. Lewis, retired CEO Big Brothers Big Sisters MN, and former GMCC Board Member

Our Team

Adrienne Dorn

Executive Director
adorn@gmcc.org
612-276-1543

Megan Young

Operations Director
myoung@gmcc.org
612-276-1548

Tanya Batalska

Finance Director
tanya@gmcc.org
612-276-1501

Anesu Masakura

Resourcing Manager
amasakura@gmcc.org
612-276-1525

Ameen Hassan

Program Manager
ahassan@gmcc.org
612-276-1558

Steve Gustafson

Facilities Manager & Development Specialist
sgustafson@gmcc.org
612-276-1577

Julia Strautman

Program Manager
jstrautman@gmcc.org

Shannon Holloman

Admin / Office Assistant
sholloman@gmcc.org

Len Sanqui

Program Logistics & Resourcing Coordinator
Community Engagement Fellow at Move for America, an Americorps VISTA Member
lsanqui@gmcc.org 
612-276-1568

Nafisa Mohamed 

Subject Matter Expert & Peer Recovery Specialist
nmohamed@gmcc.org

Hibat Sharif

Subject Matter Expert & Peer Recovery Specialist

Courtney Plude

Bookkeeper
cplude@gmcc.org

Board of Directors

Bruce A. Ensrud
Board Chair

Wealth Advisor and Founding Partner
Parable Wealth Partners

 

Erin Rupp
Vice Chair

Executive Director
Pollinate Minnesota

Dr. Nerita Hughes
Vice Chair

Interim Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean-School of Business, Careers, Education & Workforce
North Hennepin Community College 

Jack Duffy
Treasurer

Area Senior Vice President, Segment Sales Leader 
Gallagher

Heather Riddle

Senior Vice President and Chief Development Officer
American Public Media Group and Minnesota Public Radio

Dominique Battle

Openings Associate
AvantStay

Ron Harris

Chief Resilience Officer
City of Minneapolis

Henriette Ngo Bissoy

Science Teacher
L’Etoile du Nord French Immersion School

E. Selemon Asfaw

Chief Financial Officer
Optum Care

Dr. Hassan Masroujeh

Emergency Dentist
Emergency Dental Care USA

Jeff Peterson

Chief Marketing and Experience Officer
Echo 360

Dr. Ryan Greiner

Medical Director
North Memorial Health

Schuyler Troy, J.D.

University of Minnesota Law School