Who We Are

We believe…

Access to food and proper nutrition is not only imperative for health and well-being but is a human right.

Every young person carries the capacity for “genius” and deserves a safe, nurturing spaces to realize their full potential.

Communities do not need to be “saved” but rather require sustainable and equitable access to resources and opportunities to flourish.

Racial, economic, and geographic disparities in Minnesota demand meaningful action with measurable outcomes.

Our role is to operationalize equitable and just solutions in collaboration with Minnesota communities.

We must be responsive and adaptable to the ever-changing landscape of circumstance, opportunity, and need.

Our Legacy

GMCC (Greater Minneapolis Council of Churches) was founded in 1905 as a faith-based initiative to serve the community. For 118 years, we have fulfilled our mission of “uniting people of faith, serving people in need,” through a range of programs and services, including advocacy and education around equity and poverty; volunteerism and service learning; mentoring and youth development; support services for seniors; and hunger-relief. 

Today, GMCC embraces our legacy through an intercultural, interfaith approach that intentionally welcomes all belief communities in our work.

Our Work

GMCC is an entrepreneurial organization that partners with communities most impacted by challenges to co-design responses. We work in the areas of food, youth, and well-being.

Our work is guided by the following principles:

1. Focus on action
2. Support co-design and power-sharing with the community
3. Maintain an asset-orientation approach
4. Focus on the social determinants of health & well-being

We are not always the experts. We therefore engage people with lived experiences to lead and staff our projects to more effectively address the challenges.

Although a lot of great work is being done in Minnesota, it continues to be siloed. GMCC’s role is often not to build initiatives from scratch but to partner with those on the front lines to add capacity to their good work. We use our infrastructure, staffing, and networks to develop masterful collaborations that respond to needs and opportunities, make positive change, and result in healthy, equitable communities.

“We are small, but large in heart.” – Gloria J. Lewis, retired CEO Big Brothers Big Sisters MN, and former GMCC Board Member

Our Team

Adrienne Dorn

Executive Director
adorn@gmcc.org
612-276-1543

Megan Young-Black

Operations Director
myoung@gmcc.org
612-276-1548

Meghann Gordon

Director of Youth Initiatives
mgordon@gmcc.org
612-588-4655

Ameen Hassan

Senior Program Manager
ahassan@gmcc.org
612-276-1558

Julia Strautman

Program Manager
jstrautman@gmcc.org
612-276-1556

Deeq Abdi

Youth Program Manager
dabdi@gmcc.org
612-276-1579

Len Sanqui

Program & Communications Coordinator
lsanqui@gmcc.org
612-276-1568

Shannon Holloman

Admin / Office Assistant
sholloman@gmcc.org
612-276-1568

Vanessa Harrison

Individual Donor & Relationship Manager
vharrison@gmcc.org

Tanya Batalska

Finance Director
tanya@gmcc.org
612-276-1501

Oksana Fedorovych

Bookkeeper (AP/AR)
finance@gmcc.org 

Steve Gustafson

Facilities Manager & Development Specialist
sgustafson@gmcc.org
612-276-1577

Nafisa Mohamed 

Lead Subject Matter Expert &
Peer Recovery Specialist
nmohamed@gmcc.org

Sadad Omar

Peer Recovery Specialist

Safia Mohamed

Peer Recovery Apprentice

Domonique Guilmer

Lead Guide

Juan Davila

Bilingual Guide

Chris Smith

Lead Guide

Interested in joining our team?

Click below to see open positions at GMCC:

 

Board of Directors

Heather Riddle
Board Chair

Senior Vice President and Chief Development Officer
American Public Media Group and Minnesota Public Radio

Erin Rupp
Vice Chair

Executive Director
Pollinate Minnesota

Schuyler Troy, J.D.
Secretary

University of Minnesota Law School

Bruce A. Ensrud
Former Board Chair

Wealth Advisor and Founding Partner
Parable Wealth Partners

 

Kay Adam

Manager of Strategic Initatives
Hennepin County

Dr. Ryan Greiner

Medical Director
North Memorial Health

Nicholas Contreraz

Vice President of Programs
Neighborhood House

Henriette Ngo Bissoy

Science Teacher
L’Etoile du Nord French Immersion School

Jeff Peterson

Chief Marketing and Experience Officer
Echo 360